BarNet Documenation

Don't leave your mail on the server!

Reasons not to leave it on the server

If you leave it on the server....

  • It will make your sessions slower because the retrieval has to search for all your mail before it can make a list of mail available.
  • If you are going to use the webmail facility to read your email from outside BarNet, you will see all the old email again.
  • If you are going to read your email at home, you will download all your old email again.
  • If you have to reinstall your email client (for whatever reason), you will download all your old email again.

Reasons to leave it on the server

If you leave it on the server...

  • You can retrieve it later again if you are at home.
  • You can retrieve it if you accidently throw it away (subject to disk limitations)

Best of both worlds

If you want to get the features of leaving email on the server, without the negative side effects of it, be sure that you have configured your email client properly.

Microsoft Outlook Express

Inside Outlook Express, go to the Tools menu and select Options. Select your mail account, select Properties and select the Advanced tab.

Either don't leave the messages on the server, or set it to remove the messages from the server after five days and when they are removed from the 'Deleted Items' folder.

Netscape Mail Reader

Inside Netscape Navigator, go to the Window menu and select News & Newsgroups. Select there the Server Settings of your mail account.

Either don't leave the messages on the server, or set it to remove the messages from the server when they are deleted or moved from the Inbox.

Mozilla Mail Reader

Inside Mozilla, go to the Window menu and select News & Newsgroups. Select there your account and select the properties from the menu popping up when you click with the right hand mouse button.

Either don't leave the messages on the server, or set it to remove the messages from the server after seven days and when they are delete or moved from the Inbox.

Microsoft Entourage

From the Tools menu, select Accounts. Select your account and click on Edit. Select the Options tab.

Either don't leave the messages on the server, or set it to remove the messages from the server after seven days and when they are delete from this computer.

Powered by
BarNetwork Pty Limited
Contact us
© 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 BarNetwork Pty Limited (ABN 32 092 121 198). All rights reserved.
BarNet, the BarNet star device, DeskFax, BVL, VLP, BarPhone, VirtualLibrary, and DeskSMS are each used as a trade mark by BarNetwork Pty Limited.